Saraki Swears In Abe, Sekibo, Ideozu


The Senate President, Bukola Saraki, yesterday swore in the three new senators who won in last Saturday’s rerun election in Rivers State.

The new lawmakers are Magnus Abe (Rivers South East), George Sekibo (Rivers East) and Osinakachukwu Ideozu (Rivers West)

Saraki explained that the three seats had been vacant since December 2015, when the Court of Appeal invalidated the legislative elections held during the 2015 general elections.

He also announced that from June 2015 to September 2016, the Senate had passed 32 bills, adding that 64 other bills had passed the second reading.

“What we achieved in the last three months has surpassed what we did in the one and half years that we have been in session. We also concurred to 34 bills with the House of Representatives.

“This is commendable and it won’t have been possible without the support of everybody,” he sa

Facebook Comments

Leave A Reply