New Mega Party Targets 16 State Governors For 2019 Elections


Movers of the proposed new mega party are already targeting at least 16 states of the federation whose governors they are confident will decamp to the new party, to bolster their chances of unseating the present government of President Muhammadu Buhari.

The new opposition party is believed to have the tacit support of the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led faction of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) that currently controls 11 states in the country, a National Leader of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief Bola Ahmed Tinbubu, and former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar, a major chieftain of the APC.

Some of the states being considered for the taking are spread across five crucial geo-political zones of the country, with the calculation that once the new party is able to hold down these states, the others could be turned into battleground states, where it would compete for votes with the APC to shore up its chances in the 2019 elections.

The states already considered to be the strongholds of the proposed mega party are:


1. AbiA

2. Ebonyi

3. Enugu


4. Rivers

5. Akwa Ibom

6. Delta

7. Cross River

8. Bayelsa


9. Osun

10. Oyo

11. Ekiti

12. Lagos


13. Gombe

14. Taraba

15. Adamawa


16. Benue State

Leave A Reply